What about the 2015 list?

I'm resuscitating my March Madness mascot life this year, but can just manage the list starting with the Sweet Sixteen in a timely manner. I'll retroactively post the entire list at some point, or not. 

A few things that caught my attention this year:

  • Three Pistol Petes made the tourney this year: Oklahoma State, New Mexico State, and Wyoming. (Though New Mexico State is the Aggies, their mascot is a cowboy. Guess that's more intimidating than a farmer.) Not surprisingly, in this era of marketing, OSU filed a lawsuit against NMS about the use of their "Classic Aggie" image. 
  • Blaze, the UAB dragon, is quite cute.
  • There is a mascot and a nickname inspired by  non-newspaper texts: UC Irvine's Peter the Anteater, inspired by Johhny Hart's B.C. comic strip, and the Coastal Carolina Chanticleers honor a proud bird in Chaucer's Canterbury Tales.
  • Does Harvard have a mascot or not? I see online pictures of him, but have found nothing official online, nor have I seen him at the games. Granted, he probably wouldn't get much airtime, based on the pictures I've seen.
  • The WaPo mascot emjoi's created by Juila Herfernan made me smile. 

I leave you with the mascot emoji mentioned in this post, plus one.


2014 - The First Five Teams to Punch Their Dance Cards

JohnHarvardThe Harvard Crimson was the first team in this year. There's not much info to be found about mascot John Harvard, except this handsome picture. 

Has anyone seen him at the basketball games this year? The football games? A Thanksgiving parade? I'd love to know if he's still around. 



EKUcolonel300x242The Eastern Kentucky Colonels will have The Colonel on the sidelines, though some would like him to be permanently ejected. 



CoastalCarolinaChaunceyChanticleerThe Coastal Carolina Chanticleers (SHON-ti-clears) and Chauncey Chanticleer are celebrating their first tourney bid since 1993. FYI, Chauncey is a rooster. The chanticleer mascot comes from a character in Chaucer's The Canterbury Tales. The Chanticleer is a proud and fierce rooster who dominates the barnyard. 


WUShockMVCChamp2014smallThe Wichita State Shockers and WuShock enter the tournament with an unblemished 34-0 record, which hasn't been done since 1991's UNLV team. Indiana's 1975-76 team was the last undefeated national champion, and that was before the tournament expanded to 64 teams.(Thanks to USA Today for the info.)



MercerTobyTheBearThe Mercer Bears with Toby, and perhaps his lady Tot, are one of the tiny dancers this year. 




So far, WuShock and Chauncey are the most unique in the field. We'll see what rest of the 68 teams brings.